

Lou Ann Texeira

Executive Officer '

#### MEMBERS

Federal Glover County Member S Michael R. McGill Special District Member

Dwight Meadows Special District Member Rob Schroder City Member Don Tatzin City Member

## ALTERNATE MEMBERS

Sharon Burke Public Member Tom Butt City Member George H. Schmidt

Special District Member

Mary N. Piepho

County Member

Martin McNair Public Member

Gayle B. Uilkema County Member

August 10, 2011 (Agenda)

Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission 651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor Martinez, CA 94553 August 10, 2011 Agenda Item 12

# Special District Risk Management Authority (SDRMA) Board Election

Dear Commissioners:

Contra Costa LAFCO purchases its workers' compensation and property/liability insurance through the SDRMA, a joint powers public agency providing a full-service risk management program for California's local governments. The SDRMA provides risk financing and risk management services to 760 member agencies, including numerous special districts, municipalities, joint powers authorities and approximately 20 LAFCOs. In conjunction with participation in the SDRMA, LAFCO is also a member of the California Special Districts Association (CSDA).

In May 2011, the Commission received an election packet from SDRMA with information regarding the board election process and seven candidates. The SDRMA requests action by LAFCO to select up to three candidates for the SDRMA Board of Directors. Ballots must be cast by September 16, 2011.

In June, the Commission appointed an ad hoc committee (Commissioners Burke and Schroder) to review the candidates and report back to the Commission in July with a recommendation.

On July 20, Commissioners Burke and Schroder met and reviewed the written qualifications statements and resumes of the seven candidates for the SDRMA Board of Directors. In addition, the committee members interviewed by phone all seven candidates and the Chief Financial Officer at the SDRMA.

Candidates were reviewed using the following criteria: geographical diversity, special district experience, risk management experience, whether agency staff member or agency Board member, elected office experience, LAFCO knowledge and experience, and whether small district or large district for representation of different interests based on agency size.

Based on their review of the candidates and the candidates' spoken and written answers, the committee recommends that Contra Costa LAFCO instruct the Executive Director to cast its vote for SDRMA Board as follows:

- Sandy Raffelson, Herlong Public Utility District, Lassen County
- Edmund K. Sprague, (Appointed Incumbent), Olivenhain Municipal Water District, San Diego County
- Ed Gray, (Appointed Incumbent), Chino Valley Independent Fire District, San Bernardino County

## **Recommendation:**

- 1. It is recommended that the Commission cast its vote pursuant to the committee's recommendations, adopt Resolution No. 2011-01 containing the Official 2011 SDRMA Election Ballot, and direct staff to file the LAFCO resolution with SDRMA prior to September 16, 2011; or
- 2. Provide other direction as desired.

Sincerely,

Lou Ann Texeira Executive Officer

Attachment

### **RESOLUTION NO.**2011-01



### A RESOLUTION OF THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission FOR THE ELECTION OF DIRECTORS TO THE SPECIAL DISTRICT RISK MANAGEMENT AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

WHEREAS, Special District Risk Management Authority (SDRMA) is a Joint Powers Authority formed under California Government Code Section 6500 et seq., for the purpose of providing risk management and risk financing for California special districts and other local government agencies; and

WHEREAS, SDRMA's Sixth Amended and Restated Joint Powers Agreement specifies SDRMA shall be governed by a seven member Board of Directors nominated and elected from the members who have executed the current operative agreement and are participating in a joint protection program; and

WHEREAS, SDRMA's Sixth Amended and Restated Joint Powers Agreement Article 7 -Board of Directors specifies that the procedures for director elections shall be established by SDRMA's Board of Directors; and

WHEREAS, SDRMA's Board of Directors approved Policy No. 2011-02 Establishing Guidelines for Director Elections specifies director qualifications, terms of office and election requirements; and

**WHEREAS**, Policy No. 2011-02 specifies that member agencies desiring to participate in the balloting and election of candidates to serve on SDRMA's Board of Directors must be made by resolution adopted by the member agency's governing body.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the governing body of the Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission selects the following candidates to serve as Directors on the SDRMA Board of Directors:

(continued)



#### OFFICIAL 2011 ELECTION BALLOT SPECIAL DISTRICT RISK MANAGEMENT AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS



### **VOTE FOR ONLY THREE (3) CANDIDATES**

Mark each selection directly onto the ballot, voting for no more than three (3) candidates. Each candidate may receive only one (1) vote per ballot. A ballot received with more than three (3) candidates selected will be considered invalid and not counted. All ballots <u>must be sealed</u> and received by mail or hand delivery in the enclosed self-addressed, stamped envelope at SDRMA on or before 5:00 p.m., Friday, September 16, 2011. Faxes or electronic transmissions are NOT acceptable.

X SANDY RAFFELSON

District Clerk, Herlong Public Utility District

#### **EMERY ROSS**

Director, Mariposa County Resource Conservation District

#### **MIKE SCHEAFER**

Director/Secretary, Costa Mesa Sanitary District

- X EDMUND K. SPRAGUE (INCUMBENT) Board President, Olivenhain Municipal Water District
- X ED GRAY (INCUMBENT) Director, Chino Valley Independent Fire District

#### **BETHZABE YANEZ**

Board President, East Palo Alto Sanitary District

#### **TERRY BURKHART**

Board President, Bighorn-Desert View Water Agency

ADOPTED this 10th day of	August	, 2011	by the	Contra	Costa	Local	Agency	Formation	Commission	by the
following roll call votes listed by n	iame:									

AYES:	
NOES:	
ABSTAIN:	
ABSENT:	

ATTEST:

APPROVED: